Yosemite in Winter

7800000-r3-023-10.jpgI had the good fortune to be ‘stuck’ in San Jose this weekend for a convention, and with nothing to do, flew my wife out to join me to visit Yosemite. Let me say that no matter what you read, how many pictures you see, and how many stories you hear – nothing comes close to the sheer overwhelming immensity of the scenery.

On the Saturday we drove in early from San Jose, and arrived around 1030…our first hike was up the closed,7800000-r3-045-21.jpg and iced, road to the Mariposa Grove of the Sequoias. We had brought our snowshoes with us, and did not need or use them, but really regretted not bringing our Stabilicers, which would have been perfect. The hike up is easy – two miles in and about 900′ of elevation – and the trees are surreal. To see trees that may well be over a thousand years old, that are 15′ in diameter, and are everywhere you look is breathtaking. We could have hiked a loop or two thru the grove, but since we only had two short days, we went back down and drove to the Valley.

Coming thru the Tunnel along Wawona Highway, there is an overlook immediately after the end (be prepared because it is right there!) – this is the first look at El Capitan, Half Dome, Sentinel and the whole Valley floor. Unbelievable is all that can be said. We spent a few hours in the Valley – hiked up to see Bridalveil Falls (very very icy – folks were sliding down rather than walk it was so bad), more pictures of Half Dome from the famous Sentinal Bridge, and drove back to out hotel in the park, the7800000-r2-037-17.jpg Wawona. Along the highway we noticed the cars ahead slowing, and upon reaching the area of interest, saw two coyotes looking for their dinner. As we slowed to take a picture, one popped up about five feet from the car!

The Wawona Hotel was built in the 1850’s, and is a great little place to stay, and an even better place to eat – the dining room was cheery, and the pot roast was to die for. One thing to note – 7800000-r2-021-9.jpgwhen they say the rooms are without a bath, they mean it – it’s not like a B&B with shared bath down the hall, but it’s out back on the porch…

The next morning we decided to drive up to Badger Pass to see the ski area, and to break out the snowshoes…Badger Pass sits at about 7400′, and is a small ski area that looks like a lot of fun. We strapped on the shoes and hiked up a groomed cross country ski trail to the top7800000-r1-041-19.jpg of the former Badger Pass Ski Area – about a mile with a 200′ gain. We then followed the cat trails over to the top of the ski area, and hit our elevation high for the weekend of 7892′ – I was surprised I wasn’t more out of breath from the elevation, but we both did fine. On the return, we noticed some skiers had left the trail and skied through the trees back to the bottom, so we decided to head the same way – finally hitting some good knee deep powder, we had a lot of fun glissading thru the Sequoias to the top of the cross country run, and then hiked back to the lodge – about a 3 mile loop, with close to 500′ gain. The views of the Sierras from the top were – to overuse the word – breathtaking as well.

Unfortunately as we descended back to the Valley, the clouds rolled in and it started to rain, but we also knew it was time to head back to reality –

We left the Park by the Arch Rock Entrance, along Route 140 – do NOT do this if you come to Yosemite. I had heard about rock slides along the road, but had no idea the magnitude until we saw it – 300′ of the highway is simply missing, and has been for about a year and half…while they have a short re-route around it, they still have no idea how to clean it up without making it worse. The fear now is that to disturb it will cause a bigger slide, damming the Merced River, and flooding the Valley –

I absolutely hated to leave, and can’t wait to go back with the kids. I also would very much like to do the hike up the cables to the top of Half Dome, which is only open from May to about November.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 49 Comments

Post navigation

49 thoughts on “Yosemite in Winter

  1. Hey, great blog!. How do I subscribe to your RSS feed to ensure I get notifed when you make new posts? Thank you

  2. When I at first left a comment I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive 4 messages with the exact same comment.

  3. This is a wonderful weblog, would you be interested in making time for an interview concerning just how you made it? If so e-mail me!

  4. How do you make this blog look this awesome! Email me if you can and share your wisdom. !

  5. You ought to really moderate the commentary at this site

  6. After I open up your Feed it seems to be a ton of junk, is the problem on my side?

  7. This is a fantastic blog, could you be interested in going through an interview about just how you produced it? If so e-mail me personally!

  8. How did you make a blog site look this sick! Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  9. As soon as I at first commented I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a comment is added I receive 4 email messages with the identical comment.

  10. Do youve got a spam concern on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; weve got developed some nice approaches and we are looking to exchange solutions with other individuals, be certain to blast me an e-mail if serious.

  11. buy fridge freezer

    Do youve got a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; we have developed some nice techniques and were searching to swap solutions with other folks, be certain to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  12. I Will have to return again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Rss feed so i could read your web blog offline. Thanks.

  13. The look for the weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your website. I might have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  14. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Feed so i can read your site offline. Thanks.

  15. Whenever I originally left a comment I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now every time a remark is added I receive four messages with the exact same comment.

  16. The majority of of the opinions on this particular blog site dont make sense.

  17. This site has got lots of very helpful info on it! Thanks for helping me!

  18. Do youve a spam concern on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; weve developed some nice strategies and were looking to trade solutions with other folks, be certain to blast me an e-mail if serious.

  19. An interesting blog post there mate ! Cheers for that !

  20. I feel one of your advertisements caused my web browser to resize, you may well want to put that on your blacklist.

  21. I tried viewing your web site in my ipod touch and the page layout doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not really working with your site.

  22. A insightful post right there mate . Thank you for that !

  23. I like the site layout . How did you make it!? It is really cool!

  24. Just to let you know your web page looks a little bit different on Safari on my notebook with Linux .

  25. A insightful post there mate . Cheers for the post !

  26. Do you might have a spam concern on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; we now have created some nice techniques and we are looking to swap options with other folks, be positive to fire me an e-mail if serious.

  27. Jesus Christ there is plenty of spammy comments on this webpage. Have you actually thought about trying to get rid of them or putting in a wordpress plugin?

  28. Could you message me with any tips on how you made your site look this good , Id appreciate it!

  29. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your scenario; we have created some great strategies and were searching to exchange options with other folks, be sure to blast me an e-mail if serious.

  30. If you could message me with some hints & tips about how you made your blog look this cool , Id appreciate it!

  31. Just to let you know your site appears a little bit different in Firefox on my netbook using Linux .

  32. I have got 1 recommendation for your weblog. It seems like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet problems when opening a selection of webpages inside google chrome as well as internet explorer. It is working okay in internet explorer. Probably you can double check that.

  33. It seems to me that this website doesnt download in a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the exact same problem? I enjoy this web site and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im away from my computer.

  34. Re: The person who produced the comment that this was a good website really needs to get their head reviewed.

  35. This is often a wonderful web site, would you be interested in making time for an interview regarding just how you produced it? If so e-mail myself!

  36. The structure for your weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I may need to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  37. Most of the responses on this particular site dont make sense.

  38. Im getting a little problem. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  39. While I actually like this publish, I believe there was an punctuational error shut towards the end from the third sentence.

  40. Even though I truly like this publish, I believe there was an punctuational error near towards the finish of your third paragraph.

  41. Amazing article, thank you, I will visit again later.

  42. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt functioning today. I tried including it to my Yahoo reader account and got nothing.

  43. The look for the site is a bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your blog. I may need to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  44. How do you make your site look this cool. Email me if you can and share your wisdom. .

  45. Have you given any kind of thought at all with translating your main blog into Chinese? I know a few of translaters here that will would certainly help you do it for free if you wanna make contact with me personally.

  46. This is often a excellent website, would you be interested in going through an interview about just how you created it? If so e-mail myself!

  47. After I start your Feed it appears to be to be a ton of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  48. Very nice post and straight to the point.コーチ ヘリテージ コーチ ヘリテージ コーチ ヘリテージ コーチ ヘリテージ I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you people have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks 🙂

  49. I enjoyed discovering your blog. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

